The Michigan Distracted Driving laws are...interesting. We can all agree that texting and driving is dangerous. We can also all agree that we are guilty of doing it.

Related: The State of Michigan Says You Can't Own These 11 Weapons

Michigan's new addition to the already on-the-books violations, is holding a cell phone while driving. You read that right. Holding your cell phone while driving is illegal as of June 30, 2023. This includes having it on your lap, and holding it between your ear and shoulder, basically if you're touching your cell phone while driving, you're now guilty of 'distracted driving'.

1240 WJIM AM logo
Get our free mobile app

Michigan's New Distracted Driving Law Fines

Michigan's new law, in effect as of June 30, 2023, has directly addressed texting and driving, but it has also some existing violations that could cost you a considerable fine. How much? Here's the breakdown from Michigan.gov:

Drivers caught violating the rules would face fines and/or be required to perform community service.

If a person is caught holding or using a cell phone, or mobile electronic device, while driving a regular motor vehicle, they would face the following fines:

  • First violation: $100 fine or 16 hours of community service, or both.
  • Second or subsequent violation: $250 fine or 24 hours of community service, or both.
  • If 3 violations occur within a 3-year period: The driver would be ordered by the court to complete a drive-improvement course.

If a person driving a commercial vehicle or a school bus is caught holding or using a cell phone, they would face the following fines:

  • First violation: $200 fine or 32 hours of community service, or both.
  • Second or subsequent violation: $500 fine or 48 hours of community service, or both.

Related: Michigan Construction Zone Cameras: Fines to Be Mailed Soon?

Those are some serious fines, but if we continue to text and drive, or any of the additional actions below, Michigan stands to make a lot of money from fines. Or get enough 'volunteer' hours to pick up every piece of litter along our highways through community service.

14 Violations That Are Considered Distracted Driving in Michigan

Michigan's new Distracted Driving, effective June 30, 2023, has added some new violations to the already existing list of no-nos behind the wheel. Here are 14 offenses that will get you a hefty fine and hours of community service, if you're caught doing them in your car.