Every Michigan member of Congress (sans one) voted in favor of the TikTok ban on Wednesday.

The ban, for those unfamiliar, is seeking to ban the use of the app in the United States unless its owner (a China-based company) sells.

While many TikTok creators have spoken out against banning the app in the US, the House of Representatives voted 352-56 in favor of it.

1240 WJIM AM logo
Get our free mobile app

Every single Michigan member of the House of Representatives voted in favor of the bill sans one, Rashida Tlaib (D-Detroit), who did not vote.

READ MORE: TikTok Star Transforms Grand Rapids RAPID Bus Into Booty Bus

The following representatives voted in favor of the ban:

  • Jack Bergman (R - Watersmeet)
  • Debbie Dingell (D - Ann Arbor)
  • Bill Huizenga (R - Holland)
  • John James (R - Farmington Hills)
  • Daniel Kildee (D - Flint Township)
  • Lisa McClain (R - Bruce)
  • John R. Moolenaar (R - Caledonia)
  • Hillary Scholten (D - Grand Rapids)
  • Elissa Slotkin (D - Lansing)
  • Haley Stevens (D - Birmingham)
  • Shri Thandedar (D - Detroit)
  • Tim Walberg (R - Tipton)

While many TikTok users and creators are panicking at the moment, the ban would still have a long way to go before becoming law. Now that it has passed in the House of Representatives, it will move on to the Senate for a vote. If the Senate were to vote in favor of the ban, President Joe Biden has stated that he would sign it into law.

It's yet to be seen if the ban will actually happen, but many content creators are speaking out about it, including West Michigan's own Jessica Secrest who posts her Aggressive Tutorials to the platform. In her most recent post, she called the ban "very scary", not because of the loss of revenue that it would bring for her, but because she would lose her connection with her followers.

24 Biggest Southwest Michigan TikTok Creators in 2023

These are the TikTok creators in Southwest Michigan ranked by followers. Updated 12/11/2023

Gallery Credit: TikTok