Michigan’s ‘Click It Or Ticket’ Is Back This Week
If you didn't know, Michigan's annual 'Click It or Ticket' campaign kicks off later this week. The fall enforcement period will start on Thursday, October 17th and will run through Halloween. During the 'Click It or Ticket' enforcement period, police departments, sheriff’s offices, and the Michigan State Police will be conducting stepped up seat belt enforcement throughout the state of Michigan. Besides the safety reasons for buckling up, there's also a pretty substantial financial reason you'll want to make sure that you have your seat belt on. According to the Michigan State Police, the fine for unbuckled adults is $65 plus associated local fees.
Here are some of the stats that the MSP have released regarding seat belt safety in Michigan:
- In Michigan, seat belt use currently stands at 94.4 percent, higher than the national seat belt use rate of 89.6 percent (2018 latest statistics).
- In Michigan in 2018, 192 people were killed in traffic crashes who were not wearing a seat belt.
- Buckling up can reduce the risk of serious injury or death by 45 percent.
- Michigan law requires drivers, front seat passengers, and passengers 15 and younger in any seating position to be buckled up. Children must be in a car seat or booster seat until they are 8 years old or 4’9” tall, and children 4 years old and under must be in the back seat, if a back seat is available.