Shoot A Firework Today In Michigan & Get A $1,000 Fine
The Fourth Of July holiday is officially over!
While I am ready for another long weekend, I am also BEYOND ready for the firework mayhem to finish.
Who else is ready for people to stop shooting off fireworks?
While you may have leftover rockets from the holiday weekend, think again before shooting them off today or any day after the holiday.
Michigan law prohibits firing off any fireworks after the legal cutoff time, which was Tuesday at 11:45 PM.
At the end of 2018, Michigan put into effect new firework laws that give local communities the power to lower the number of days you can legally shoot off fireworks.
According to ABC 13, there have been numerous calls for fireworks complaints between the cutoff time until 5 AM on July 5th.
Here are the number of complaints so far in Kent, Muskegon, and Ottawa counties alone.
- KENT COUNTY – 32 CALLS
- OTTAWA COUNTY – 11 CALLS
- MUSKEGON COUNTY – 17 CALLS
With the new fireworks laws, you can only use fireworks during these designated times of the year:
- December 31 until 1 a.m. on January 1
- The Saturday and Sunday immediately preceding Memorial Day until 11:45 p.m. on each of those days
- June 29 to July 4 until 11:45 p.m. on each of those days
- July 5, if that date is a Friday or Saturday, until 11:45 p.m
- The Saturday and Sunday immediately preceding Labor Day until 11:45 p.m. on each of those days.
If you break any of these rules, you will be hit with a $1,000 fine for each violation! I do not know about you but fireworks are not worth a $1,000 check to the state government.
If you want to know how to report your neighbors still firing off fireworks after the holiday, you can check it out here.